The 14th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL), which was halted midway in May because of the COVID-19 pandemic, is set to restart from September 19 with Mumbai Indians taking on Chennai Super Kings in Dubai. The final will be played in Dubai on October 15.

READ | CSK will hopefully win IPL 2021 for Dhoni: Raina

Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah will host the league matches, while the final and first qualifier (October 10) will be played in Dubai. The eliminator and the second qualifier will be played in Sharjah on October 11 and 13.

Final game of the league stage will be played between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals on October 8. There will be seven double headers, with matches starting at 3:30pm. The evening matches will start at 7:30pm.

Abu Dhabi is expected to host one of the eliminator rounds of the T20 World Cup and the Sheikh Zayed Stadium will be handed over to the International Cricket Council (ICC) after the league stage of the IPL.

The franchises have been informally told about the schedule, and the Board is in the final stages of sorting the logistics. With most teams wanting to travel to UAE at least a month before the tournament starts, the franchises have asked all their players and support staff to be fully vaccinated by the second week of August.

Earlier this year, BCCI had been forced to postpone the IPL after multiple players and support staff tested positive for COVID-19. The remaining 31 matches will be played over 27 days.

The tentative schedule

Tournament begins – September 19

First Qualifier – October 10, Dubai

Eliminator – October 11, Sharjah

Second Qualifier – October 13, Sharjah

Final – October 15, Dubai

Source link